THAT GIRL

I am that girl that people want to be.
I wasn’t always, being kinda small town and insignificant to others because I didn’t care about what type of alcohol to get, or what hangout spot to be at.
But tables do turn.
It is true what they say: God doesn’t give you everything. But He does give you something- exactly what you need to make it.
I’ve never really been bad at schoolwork since childhood. I don’t take myself to be some kind of academic ninja…but I’ve always gone home with good grades. It’s not easy for me to remember what I study, but thank God for principles. Before I knew it, I was the best in my pharmacy class at the university. I narrowly missed government sponsorship, by just a whisker, but God helped me beat the government-sponsored kids. He lifted me from glory to glory.
Then, I often state: I am not the most outgoing person. Matter of fact, I’m probably the most antisocial person I know. But how I was voted most outstanding student at school was lost on me. I don’t know what they saw in me, but they did. Then it all happened: the leadership post, the responsibilities, the assignments, and the rewards.
To have someone say they want to be like me…that is surreal. Like, you don’t know my struggle. You don’t know what goes through my mind. You don’t know how many times I’ve hard I’ve had to try to make things perfect. You don’t know that most times I’ve put on a mask for you, because I also get fed up of baring myself. You don’t know that I try so hard to polish this image for the outside person. You don’t know that I’d rather sit around reading good books. You probably don’t know that laughter is something I treasure, even if I sometimes don’t find the world as fynny as it should be, enough to make me chortle.
And yet, you want to be like me. I don’t get how I got to this point, but I’m here. I’m that girl- the one with the traits and principles that really matter- the things I’ve tried so hard to muster and have finally got the hang of. You see me as gold…oh well, beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. You think I’m invincible; that I can do anything if I just put my mind to it. You think I can solve world problems, cure cancer, the works.
I know my limitations, but you don’t. I don’t know how far I can go, but perhaps you do. So, hey, as you wish to be me, you better be ready to carry my weight of cross.
Just saying.

Nana Ray

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

