REVIEWING AMERICANAH

I’m not good at making reviews, but I just had to make one for Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah. All I can say, Chimamanda, is WOW. Because I loved it soooo much. I identified with it on so many levels. Many times, I found myself saying, “I know, right?”

The way she builds Ifem and Obinze’s relationship, all the way from high school upwards was great, in addition to Ifem’s relatives back home. Because that’s just how it is.

It is true that many of us Africans don’t think about race.  That’s how we have been brought up. It’s not something to fuss over. Actually, we fuss more over tribes. We see tribalism even where it might not be. We make such a big deal out of it. But about being black? Man, we all be black…maybe different shades, but that is not a real issue in most places.

Yes, it is true about people here being in awe of people who have come from “outside countries”. You could pull the accent card to get something. Trust me, I’ve seen it. We welcome foreigners much better than they do us. That’s how it is…whether it is for prestige or wealth or whatever, that is how it usually appears.

This is a must-read. Get into her mind and experience for yourself the difference between the two communities, and a surprising end (at least for me).

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

